Ogun Police Arrest 5 Teenage Highway Robbers

Ogun Police Arrest 5 Teenage Highway Robbers




The police in Ogun State on Sunday paraded five teenage suspected armed robbers operating on Lagos-Ibadan highway.

Reports has it that three of the victims had earlier been arrested while two others escaped.

But, on Sunday, the police in Ogun State said:

“the remaining two members of robbery syndicate have been arrested.”

The police said they were apprehended by operatives of Ogun State Special Anti Robbery Squads (SARS).

Oyeyemi said they were traced to Lokoja in Kogi State by the CSP Tijani Muhammed-led SARS.

The SARS unit of the force took over the case from Owode Egba division, where the first three members of the gang were earlier arrested.

The gang, according to Oyeyemi, had on July 17 blocked the Alapako end of Lagos-Ibadan highway, where they forcefully stopped a Mazda commercial bus with two occupants and subsequently dispossessed the occupants of a cash sum of N545,000 and an itel phone after beaten them black and blue with cutlasses.

The case, it was gathered was transferred to SARS, where the suspects made useful statements that led the operatives to Lokoja, where the remaining two members of the gang were apprehended on Thursday.

Three cutlasses and a wood crafted to look like a gun were reportedly recovered from the suspects.

The Ogun State Commissioner of Police, Edward Ajogun, has ordered that the stretch of the Lagos-Ibadan expressway be properly combed to rid it of criminal elements.




Ogun Police Arrest 5 Teenage Highway Robbers





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Edo2020: 3 commissioners resign from Obaseki's government

Mon Jul 27 , 2020
Edo2020: 3 commissioners resign from Obaseki’s government       3 commissioners have resigned from Governor Godwin Obaseki’s government ahead of the governorship election scheduled to hold in Edo state in September. The three Oil and Gas Commissioners in the Edo State Oil Gas Producing Area Development Commission (EDOSOGPADEC) who […]
Edo2020: 3 commissioners resign